Skip to content

Teleprompters. Pastor Arnold Murray – Shepherd’s Chapel

June 18, 2009

Well said, my friend.

28 Comments leave one →
  1. Fishleg permalink
    June 18, 2009 10:31 pm

    Now, here is a wise and wonderful Bible teacher here. He’s in Gravette, Arkansas and is on TV daily with a Bible study program you can trust. He is one of the Chosin Few…a Marine who truly knows God.

    • June 19, 2009 12:11 am

      He’s never led me wrong SO far. He’s one of a kind.

  2. ergliangel45 permalink
    March 21, 2010 4:25 pm

    I hear what he is saying and for the most part, I am in agreement, but having been in an evangelical church within the Anglican Communion in England I have experienced some powerful prayers READ and written by laymen and women. The Holy Spirit is not limited to only extemporaneous prayers. Dear Man of God, though I am certain he is, he needs to let God show His creativity more profoundly.

    • Fishleg permalink
      March 21, 2010 11:20 pm

      To each his own, but prayer is from YOU to our Father.
      Not from YOU via SOMEONE ELSE to our Father. He heard it the first time.
      Agreement in prayer is a whole other thing.

      • March 22, 2010 12:22 am

        Absolutely. I do not need some stranger to relay my prayers to God. My prayers are between ME and GOD. Nobody else needs to hear them – and nobody needs to “pass them along” for me.

        Really. God hears my prayers.

      • March 23, 2010 11:22 am

        Would I be correct in assuming that neither of you have the experience of being in an evangelical liturgical church? It is very powerful to be a part of a service where lay men and women have the opportunity to first write out and then share their prayers with the congregation. I spent most of my life in Bible Churches and I never heard the prayers of laymen or women in a Sunday morning service. Why are they written, so that the participant can flow with the service as the Holy Spirit has planned before hand, believe it or not. My point is, dear ones, don’t dismiss the various ways God works through His people.

      • March 23, 2010 11:59 am

        You would be correct in your assumption. Once again, I still don’t see any need to have someone else hear my prayers. Again, they’re between ME and GOD. I don’t need a messenger to “bring them to God”. I don’t need to write them out at a congregation. I don’t need to write them out period. God knows what’s in a person’s heart and God hears everybody’s prayers – regardless.

  3. March 23, 2010 2:33 pm

    DB,

    I am familiar with this type of prayer. I too have written prayers to God but sharing them is not something I do. It is more for me than for God that I do that. Writing prayers down is a great way to have a physical manifestation of releasing that which concerns you. I do not think I would necessarily share them…but they will be a great gift to my children and my grandchildren someday. They will know the things that are put upon my heart and that I sought the counsel of God’s wisdom to work them out. But I take the approach to each his own on this subject. I am reminded that Jesus left words that were written down to teach people to pray…often the ones who need to pray are the ones who don’t because they think they do not know how to. These are the ones who need that extra help to been shown that WE all have the capacity to pray…God does not need flowery words or long winded diatribes…simple and sincere is best. And you are correct God does know our hearts.

    • March 24, 2010 12:30 pm

      I’ve written down prayers before – but never because I wanted someone else to read them – or because I thought it would be a better way for God to get them. I keep a paper journal that I write important things in. Personal thoughts, magazine clippings, pictures, etc… Stuff I want to remember when I’m older, stuff I’d like to pass down to any future chillin’s I have. Writing IS a good way to release things that are bothering you — so is blogging! — hehe..

      But, I don’t get those who don’t know how to pray. All you do is just speak to God. There isn’t a right way or a wrong way to pray — but then again, just because I don’t get it, doesn’t mean it’s wrong – or that those people aren’t out there. When I think “Evangelical”, I think those people who knock on your door and try to “convert” you, or invite you to their church, or hand out pamphlets… wandering from door to door to attract more people to their church… I don’t like that.

      🙂 As long as God knows what’s in our hearts; we’re not in a bad place.

  4. Fishleg permalink
    March 25, 2010 11:26 am

    To each his own.
    Just don’t place your faith in a group of people..
    And yes, Kathleen, I am a minister and have participated in just about every kind of church service imaginable.
    It all boils down to this:
    “Fear God, and keep His commandments, for this is the whole duty of man.”

  5. Fishleg permalink
    March 26, 2010 11:11 am

    What if your child was away at summer camp, and rather than write a personal letter to you about his feelings and activities, he just copies the kid’s letter next to him and signs his name?

  6. March 26, 2010 5:43 pm

    DB,

    If ever you need/want to understand how someone does not know how to pray have a conversation with an atheist. The thought of prayer, let alone the concept/understanding of God, is a foreign to them as the idea of reading a bill in the congress. The suggestion of prayer to an atheist evokes the same response as Nancy Pelosi’s response to being asked “where in the Constitution does it say that forcing American’s to buy health insurance is something that the federal government can do?”…she looked at that guy like he had grown two head right in front of her. After being on Capitol Hill this past Saturday I can say without a hint of doubt or hesitation…that God’s hand on this country has been recoiled and the full fury of satan is bearing upon us right now. So pray like you have never prayed before we are going to need it.

  7. July 24, 2010 3:12 am

    I pity the weak, the humble, the unwise, the feeble cretins who must demote themselves in the drowning pool of evangelicals. Arnold Murray is a self proclaimed bible teacher located in some one horse town of Gravette Arkansas. Murray has been challenged to relinquish his educational background and prove his supposed doctorate. He has never lived up to the challenge and refuses to prove that the supposed doctorate is authentic or not. The logical thinker knows that Pastor Murray doesn’t possess a doctorate. The man probably barely made it out of high school. The bullshit Murray, along with his weird sons profess, is enough to make a moderately intelligent person line drive a sledge hammer into their television set. The stupidity runneth over on The Shepard’s Chapel. For me, when I’m up late at night and want to have a hearty chuckle, I’ll wait for that big eared, old coot, Arnold Murray to start babbling on with his good old boy southern drawl. All of that make believe biblical crap….. Arnold Murray further validates his cretinous demeanor by that fact that he’s so anti-science. He completely denounces scientific proof regarding evolution, creationism by means of natural selection, denounces Charles Darwin, what science has proved so long ago and Murray continues to inject his own version of how some god created all. Sadly there are enough very ignorant people who desperately need to get a life and live outside the box. Arnold Murray doesn’t have a doctorate so he’s defrauding you right then a there with that bogus claim; he’s racist; belongs to a sect known as the chosen few which has ties to the KKK; packs a 44 Magnum revolver in his brief case; glorifies war and is just some dangerous, far-righ,t southern nut job. While Americans continue to get smarter and know that god is a fallacy and religion is only a form of monetary gain and mind control, the rest of the mindless shmucks can continue to fall for this archaic god crap and believe in what isn’t. No, god isn’t real. So why don’t you believers get real?!

    • July 27, 2010 6:03 pm

      Cool story, bro!

    • September 20, 2010 1:55 am

      May I ask for the proof that “evolution” is fact? Please point out to me the moment in time that humans evolved from whatever you think they evolved from? Far as I know no one (not even Darwin) could figure that out. You see this is the problem with the atheist and their “preaching” that God cannot be. Do you not see do you not understand…God is the ultimate scientist? God created science, nay not just created it HE is science…not the other way around.

  8. ergliangel45 permalink
    August 4, 2010 9:14 am

    Josh, you can’t be mad at God forever. One day you will come face to face with Him. The love in His eyes for you will slay you afresh. Then all you have railed against will become clear, but , . . . it will be too late. Turn today and know that, “The wages of sin is death BUT the gift of God is eternal life.” Eternal life is NOT pie in the sky when you die but sharing life with the eternal God and Father NOW on a daily basis. It doesn’t mean all your troubles will cease, for Jesus said, “I will never leave you or forsake you.” He doesn’t take us around trouble but walks with us through it. Meet this One you have rejected by reading the Gospel of Mark. Your anger at any one particular Christian may have some foundation but look beyond the person to the one true God, Jesus Christ. Perhaps you might like the writings of C.S. Lewis another intelligent former atheist/agnostic. His book, Mere Christianity will give you lots to chew on.

  9. August 6, 2010 3:48 pm

    HI! Interesting conversations here. First of all, I am a christian.
    I became a christian in college after searching for something “real”.
    I found Jesus to be very real, he changed my life and is still changing it!! God is love, justice, mercy, faith, & he is of creation and science. No argument there…Science is of God. I believe the God of the Bible because I have proved it to be real in my life over and over, and when I put God’s ways into practice, wow, it’s amazing that how it all works. Everything turns out for the best. It’s very real, never a fairytale with God. Unfortuantely, there have been those who use God as a means or cover-up for the excuse of hatred. Unfortunatley
    they have attahced the word christian to their cults and fals teachings in order to deceive. There is evil in the world because of the fall of man, Adam and Eve…..Christ tells us very clearly that one day he will make all things right. He’s the only one who can!!
    I have done a lot of reasearch lately, and Arnold Murray is a fals teacher that Jesus warned us about. He uses christianity and “twists” it for his own agenda, which is HATE. He cannot be a true man of God because he hates certain people. He is identified with the Identity Church which is a cult, because they have and are associated with the KKK, they hate Jewish people, and black people, and he recently pulled a gun out “on camera” because someone called him a blasphemer…rightly so I’m sure. No godly pastor would EVER do that!!
    God is exposing him for what he is…do NOT follow this man’s teachings. Jesus told us that in the last days, these men would be among us and lead many astray. We are in the last days…look at the evil and the world around you, it gets worse, not better. Men refuse to fear God and obey him, they want to do their own thing!!
    Because of people like Arnold Murray, who are very deceptive, they give all evangelicals and fundamentalists a very bad name. Please beleive me, not all churches who truly love God and love people, are like that. There are different so called churches out there that might call themselves that, but they are extreme right-wing, “haters”, and we must learn to discern that fact. Hence, my research on Arnold Murray. I have done this because my brother is one of his followers, unfortunately, and I am praying for him and my family. There is a history in my family I have been told of followers of the KKK, Aryan nations,(my uncle was involved with them), and ended up killing a man
    with a group of “them”….the FBI came after him, rightfully so, and now my Uncle is dead. He never asked God to forgive him for killing someone that I know of, and therefore I know what I’m talking about.
    God never condones hate of any kind. It is so sad to me that anyone would use the name christian to hid behind their agenda of hate and cruelty toward other human beings. But then, if there were no God, there would be no Satan either, who tempts men to do wicked things against the name of God. It is a spiritual war, and always has been.
    Keep a level head, think things through, read God’s word and you will understand how our world works and why we are in the mess we are in.
    False teachers about God are everywhere, it’s sometimes a very subtle way for Satan to mess with our minds and distract us away from the real, the love that God has for us. I belong to a very wonderful,
    loving church, and we care for one another, and pray for our world, and we are a bible believing church, but would have nothing to do with Arnold Murray and any of those who’s underlying goal is hatred of others who disagree with him. God is a God of justice and these people will come to justice in his economy someday. In the meantime, love people, search God from your heart, and know that he is good and he loves you. He took me from being a selfish, self serving, lonely person, and changed my thinking, and way of life. I am happy, fulfilled and he is using me all the time to serve him. Not all God lvoing people disagree that science plays a role in this world, of course it does. It is prat of how God works and how he desgined our world to function. They go hand in hand…there is no need for arguments about it, really. God bless you and please know there IS evil out there. A loving God loved us enough to warn us about it!!!!

  10. August 10, 2010 11:58 pm

    Oh, you poor poor idiots. Take a look at an unedited Strong’s concordance.

    • August 11, 2010 1:28 am

      It IS quite laughable… but if you’re expecting people like this to… *gasp* PROVE him WRONG… by… you know… WORKING and STUDYING and comparing to LEGITIMATE BIBLICAL STUDY TOOLS…

      …you’re giving them too much credit.

      I pray they find the strength to overcome the brainwashing and unjustified hate.

  11. David Servant of the Prince & King permalink
    August 28, 2010 5:08 pm

    To Josh & Mary: its unfortunate neither of you have a clue & are truly the actual ones filled with envy & hate. Josh, I don’t care about a thousand bull-sieve doctorates nor degrees when it comes to spiritual authority. Christ taught so that the simple or layperson could learn Truth & not have it only for those “above” others. That is that which is esteemed by man/men (& of course, some women) to be of importance & while in many fields (medicine, chemistry, physics, engineering, etc) it is necessary & important; however, when it comes to the Word it can (notice i didnt say always, before your types read something into my statement that isnt there) be quite meaningless. It is a position of importance & authority put forth by man to emphasize his authority over others & can be very devicive as with most/any other things. Murray is NOT a racist; that is what those with a limited & dim view pass on to others when they cant disprove nor win a factual debate with, as the “politically correct” children of transgression do to their obviously more-enlightened opponents, such as do the corrupted far left when their stupidity & emotion overwhelm them in the face of facts, logic, math, & TRUTH. & sorry to break the news to you, that while you may think we Christians are stupid or archaic (the typical cliched trap of every atheistic generation), it is you who is slow because God does exist, but its unfortunate at present that you have no communication with Him nor relationship, perhaps its just not your time yet, or worse you could be part of the negative Plan. But theres hope for you yet. I know it sounds about as arrogant as you folk always sound to we. Whats good for goose is also applicable to the gander.

  12. September 6, 2010 1:11 am

    Thank you, David. Well said and God bless you!

  13. trying to always put God first permalink
    September 19, 2010 4:37 am

    hello everyone.
    is there any one of you who have heard the Pastor speak of how he became converted?
    he mentioned that someone asked him, “did you know that America is mentioned in the Bible?” (paraphrased, probably) and then the Pastor went on to describe how and where
    our beautiful counry is mentioned.

    I beleive it was from geographical descriptions which depicts the united states exactly.
    MY PROBLEM? i cannot remember the story or what part of the Bible he quoted. Please, if there is anyone out there who knows the answer, please post it for me. Thank you so very much.

    • September 19, 2010 12:59 pm

      You know — I have, but I couldn’t tell you where. Fishleg can; I’ll ask him to post a reply to your comment. He’s a minister and a Biblical Scholar, too.

      • never meet with man before you meet with God permalink
        September 20, 2010 6:58 am

        I am certainly thankful for your thoughtfulness.
        Thank you. ‘sure hope Fishleg can help me.

  14. never meet with man before you meet with God permalink
    September 19, 2010 4:44 am

    Josh, the intelligent atheist,
    you take a great many words to say a simple thing.
    since Murray confirms all his statements with facts from the Bible perhaps you might have credibility if you to the same from whatever source you are using?

    • September 19, 2010 12:58 pm

      I wouldn’t be surprised if the “source” he’s using isn’t Wikipedia or Google. 😉

      • never meet with man before you meet with God permalink
        September 20, 2010 6:57 am

        both of which are prone to get things completely wrong, especially since they allow anyone to enter content?

  15. September 19, 2010 4:46 pm

    ttapGf: I think Arnol Murray became a teacher as soon as he got out of the Marines. He served under Chesty Puller in the Chosin Reservoir, and he was one of the few survivors of that battle in Korea.

    America is mentioned in God’s Word just about anytime a prophecy is given to Israel…Isrealites are scattered throughout the world and is a spiritual name…if God means Judea geographically or the place where the children of Jacob were initially planted the prophecy will be addressed to Jacob.

    Isaiah ch 18 is one place that describes America, also Ezekiel ch 38, starting around verse 8 and specifically v 11 that describes a land of unwalled cities where the people are at rest…that fits America!

Leave a Reply

