Skip to content

Follow me out to the other side.

April 29, 2009

What’s that, Mr. Sphincter?

Sen. Arlen Specter of Pennsylvania provided a boost to President Obama’s ambitious legislative agenda yesterday by abandoning the Republican Party in the face of shifting political realities at home and an aggressive courtship by the White House and party leaders.

In an announcement that shocked colleagues on both sides of the aisle, Specter said he had become increasingly uncomfortable as a moderate in a party dominated by conservatives and would join the Democrats. He bluntly admitted that his decision was tied to his belief that he could not win reelection as a Republican next year.

Although he said he “will not be an automatic 60th vote” for Democrats, Specter’s decision left Democratic Party leaders jubilant. The addition of Specter to their ranks, coupled with the likelihood that the Minnesota Supreme Court will name Al Franken the winner of that state’s disputed Senate race in the coming months, means that Democrats are all but certain to control a filibuster-proof 60-seat majority in the chamber for the first time in about 30 years.

So long, douchebag. We don’t need you anyway. The 2010 elections will be critical for the “right” side – and after seeing the chaos and idiocy of Chancellor Obama and his chronies – majority of us Americans (see also: Those of us with triple-digit I.Q.s) will be MORE than eager to get these idiotic Liberals, Democrats, and RINOs out of office. So, hope you enjoy the ride, Arlen. Maybe you’ll be invited to the White House’s weekly Wednesday Shin-digs.

Specter’s statement: “Not defined” by party
Article: Politico

I have decided to run for reelection in 2010 in the Democratic primary.

I am ready, willing and anxious to take on all comers and have my candidacy for reelection determined in a general election.

I deeply regret that I will be disappointing many friends and supporters. I can understand their disappointment. I am also disappointed that so many in the Party I have worked for for more than four decades do not want me to be their candidate. It is very painful on both sides. I thank specially Senators McConnell and Cornyn for their forbearance.

I am not making this decision because there are no important and interesting opportunities outside the Senate. I take on this complicated run for reelection because I am deeply concerned about the future of our country and I believe I have a significant contribution to make on many of the key issues of the day, especially medical research. NIH funding has saved or lengthened thousands of lives, including mine, and much more needs to be done. And my seniority is very important to continue to bring important projects vital to Pennsylvania’s economy.

I am taking this action now because there are fewer than thirteen months to the 2010 Pennsylvania Primary and there is much to be done in preparation for that election. Upon request, I will return campaign contributions contributed during this cycle.

Good luck with that, Sphincter.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

